The Rolling Waves

Today I am still in bed at 1pm. Mr M.E. has kindly left me here because we both knew I’d be suffering a bit. We went out for lunch yesterday with dear friends that we just don’t see often enough. I feel very grateful that they bother with us at all when they have so much going on in their lives. Sometimes the universe gives you a kick up the ass to stop you feeling sorry for yourself and for me, yesterday w16903136_1839238913006860_6932379075535906073_oas it.

But to continue my commitment to raise awareness of daily life with CFS/ME, here are the consequences of yesterday’s valuable lesson. I have woken up with a headache, I feel as though I was out drinking and dancing all night. I am also sore, mainly my neck and back, which are pretty stiff but also that general body ache you have when you’ve got a yucky cold or you’ve been too hardcore at the gym. I also feel nauseous, like rolling waves of seasick and all this before I’ve even stood up yet. I’m also, predictably, very tired and a bit tearful.

Again, I’m not looking for sympathy here, I’m just shining a light. Today I will be mostly sitting still and counting my lucky stars. I believe more strongly every day that this is a price worth paying to stay connected to people and life and the world. And I know I’m lucky to be able to push myself to do it (not all the time but every few weeks or so) because there are people who have the condition a lot more severely than me, along with people who are suffering with all manner of terrible diseases and health conditions who don’t have this choice.

Leave a Reply

