Things that I CAN do

Phew…..ie!

I’ve just finished reading my pages for the audio version of Interaction (Action for M.E.’s quarterly magazine). I had a lot this time 5 articles over 9 pages of print!

This is something I love doing as a volunteer to help the charity and people who are more severe than me and can’t read.

I also wish I could get some paid work as a reader/recording artist, I’ve got good tech at home to do it but I don’t think it’s a field that let’s in amateur punters.

I have however met a lady who suggested that with my financial knowledge and writing skills that I might be able to get some editing/proofreading work so I’ll be looking into that over the next few weeks and letting you know how I get on.

My point today being that although I am not working right now, because I can’t do it in a ‘conventional’ way and although I’ve had a pretty rough ride the last few years… I have far from given up on life.

There’s tons of stuff I can still do, I just need to have patience and maybe a little help accessing those things in a way that works for me.

I am a good writer, a good voice, a good financial analyst, an artist, a costume maker, a ropey baker (lol) a good cook. I am way more than my illness and the economy is missing out on my awesomeness

My piece yesterday was, as I have said many times before, not intended to be a mournful cry of “woe is me”. It was intended to raise awareness, to fight ignorance and shine a light on discrimination that quite a lot of people maybe don’t even realise goes on… so that things change in the now and for those that come after.

You know I didn’t know it went on until it happened to me. “There are laws against this!” I thought to myself and said out loud. What I didn’t understand is that they are not enforced and a blind is turned…often.

Tell me what you guys are a still awesome at…

Just for lols, here is a pic of me in a costume I hand stitched from scratch a couple of years ago, when I first gave up work. It took around 70 hours.

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing and outdoor
Image may contain: people standing
Leave a Reply

